Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I move around alot (in the military). I am currently a TX resident (we have vehicle inspections). My mother lives in FL and I was thinking about changing my residence to FL and my vehicles. FL does not have inspections.

Does anyone know if Virginia or California require inspections for vehicles registered out of state?

·
Registered
200 Posts
I am in the military too. I am a California resident. California requires an emissions check on all pre-1972 vehicles. If you are stationed out of the state "from what I was told" is that the 1972 and later vehicles need to have their emissions check the first time you register it and then after you can get a waiver. Try calling the DMV http://www.dmv.ca.gov/contacts/contacts.htm their website doesnt address military people living outside of the state, only those stationed in CA. I do not know anything about Virginia.

·
Premium Member
9,993 Posts
AndrewT said:
I move around alot (in the military). I am currently a TX resident (we have vehicle inspections). My mother lives in FL and I was thinking about changing my residence to FL and my vehicles. FL does not have inspections.

Does anyone know if Virginia or California require inspections for vehicles registered out of state?
When I was stationed in FL, your vehicle had to be inspected every year, but they waived the inspection for military, if you were stationed somewhere else.
California sucks. I would go with florida, since it is only $45 every two years for registration, versus $150+ for california residents. They are also the toughest emissions state in the US.
Virginia is another bad state, you will have to pay a personal property tax on your vehicle every year, not to mention outrageous registration fees. If you live in a city area, you have to have a city sticker every year or so (which you have to pay fees for).
Go with Florida, it is your best choice.

·
Registered