Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i want to make either the hood i know it would be alot easier to do the hood than the front clip so thats what im planning to do. ill just run two parallel arms along the underside of the hood and they go like a T into a cross bar that has the pivot points on them and i can prolly use the stock latch but on a braket at the cowl. whatcha'll think?

·
Premium Member
7,231 Posts
My opinion, don't do it. Having the hood tilt foward will make servicing the engine that much harder because you'll have to do everything from the sides. A full tilting clip is better because much of the front ends swings down and to the front, but still it's not as easy as a regular hood.

For something different, how about a piano hinge down the center of the hood so that each half can be lifted like the old 50s Dodge trucks.

Ed

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
As a former car mechanic, I didn't much care for the hoods the flipped foward. GM did this on some Oldsmobiles in the late 80's early 90's. GM did make everything easy to reach from the sides and being a tranverse engine helped. On the traditional engine mounting for rear wheel driven vehicles it would really be a pain to adjust belts or change them or check fluids.

·
Registered
8,924 Posts
Like they said above it would be a pain to work on, but if you're game doing it I say do it. It would look pretty cool.

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
The international scouts had the forward flipped hoods and I had 3 of them. Look unusual, and wont pop up on the highway like a chevy and wrap over the cab...but...real tough on the ribs working on anything. Clearance around the front 1/3 is ok if your a 10 year old little Asian girl, with real long arms and a kung foo grip.

·
Registered
1,915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·