Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I've been reading old posts here for the last few hours and this might be in the wrong spot but I have a few questions about a truck I will be looking at this weekend. I've been looking for a while for a decent but cheap pickup to use as a daily highway driver, parts hauler, and tow rig for my 72 Commando on a dual axle trailer. Most of what I have found in Fords and Chevys has been too beat or too expensive but I may have found a decent Dodge. Its an 85 one ton, 4WD, 360, 727, and I believe it should have 60s front and rear and a 205 case but will confirm this when I see it in person. I have no experience with Dodges at all so is there anything I should watch out for on them and will this have enough power to pull well? Is the 360 a decent compromise for a DD and a tow rig? I figure I can always throw a 4bbl and headers on it for more power and a tranny cooler is a must for the 727 but other than that it should be pretty much bulletproof, right? Thanks for any help....

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
this is the right spot to post.

the truck should have a Dana 60 front, more then likely a Dana 70 rear. 205 transfer case. should already be a 4 bbl with quadrajet carburator. The engine is rated at about 180 hp but i think thats underated. Some exhaust mods will really wake the truck up. It probably already has a tranny cooler on the truck. 727 transmissions are damn near bullet proof. Don't expect more then 10 mpg though. There is really 0 trouble spots to look for on a 85 Dodge. Maybe some emission stuff not working properly.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·