Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a rookie. I got my first off-road vehicle in November. It is a 1991 Dodge Ramcharger 4x4. It has a 318 V8 and an automatic transmission. It had a small lift and 33" tires when I bought it. I ran the bald 33's until last month when I purchased 35" Mud Trac Steel Radials. Now my gear ratio is out-of-whack. I need lower gears in my rear axle. How do I figure out what my current gears are and where can I find lower ones? I like my 35's, but I think the weird ratio helped to ruin my old transmission. I just spent almost $1,600 on an entirely different transmission and I don't want to go through that again. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
12,472 Posts
WEl lmore than likely ui got 3:23 gears . U need to go up to a 4:10 ratio and it will be ok or a 3:70 will work . get a locker if u can afford it

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would like to get a locker, but since it's my daily driver, I'm probably going to try to live without one.

·
Registered
5,581 Posts
more than likely they are 3.55s since its a 91 and had OD from the factory. if u still have the OD, u can go up to 4.56 gears. if not, go with 4.10s. and i agree, get a locker, DD or not.

Duane

·
Premium Member
4,879 Posts
To determine your axle ratio:

1) See if the tag is still on one of the diff bolts. If it is, the gear ratio should be stamped on it. If not,
2) For an open diff. Jack one tire off the ground. Make a chalk mark on the driveshaft and the rear tire that is in the air. Put trans in neutral, make sure the front tires are blocked. Spin the rear tire two complete revolutions, counting the turns of the dirveshaft. Number of driveshaft turns = gear ratio (3 1/2 turns = 3.55:1, 3 1/4 turns = 3.23, etc)