Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a really mean muscle truck I can easily cruise the country in at 90+mph easily with power to spare, wanna eat a 2020 Tahoe for lunch. So a crate motor that's pumped at 500+-HP reliably and easily and an overdrive transmission. I'd like the steering and suspension tightened up a bit as my 2WD is a lil too bouncy even with new shocks. I'd like it lifted three inches or so but solid. cool AC and loud stereo and I'll be going everywhere in my Ramcharger with my Harley in tow! I'm a disabled war vet and getting around with my bike a little more often in reliable comfort and fun would be awesome! Thanks for all suggestions in advance! 

I LOVE LOVE LOVE DODGE RAMCHARGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  <3   

·
Super Moderator
13,935 Posts
I'd vote either warmed up big block with a 46rh transmission and big-to-small block adapter, or a Cummins/47rh trans.

Stay 2wd?, or 4wd conversion?

- Sam

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Happy with 2WD, just want a powerful quick truck, maybe even a posi type rear diff. Any suggestions on the best or newest big block I could get bolted in?

·
Super Moderator
13,935 Posts
well...'best' is a matter of perspective, but newest is the '78 blocks - last year for the big blocks.  I used a 78 block simply because that happened to be what was in the particular '79 Winnebago motorcoach I found it in.  500hp would be pretty easy - have it rebuilt fresh...or buy a crate engine from a good Mopar distributor - maybe 440 Source or Mancini or other similar Mopar vendors.  Couple options for transmissions - if you want to go fast you'll need an overdrive, but there were no big blocks with overdrive so you'll need an adapter to fit a small block overdrive tranny to a big block - I used a SMR adapter, but there's also the JW ultrabell kit.  LOTs of considerations - none cheap :)

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·