Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1984 dodge ramcharger I did all kinds of body work to and painted everything underneath and then did a paint job on it. When I was done I put it back together drove it over to get gas. When I came back to my shop I shut it off and then I went to move it later when I did I hit the key it started cranking and would not stop I had to get out and take off the battery cable to get it to stop cranking. I checked wires for a short but found none so put it back together and cranked it and it will not start. I put new distributor on it and a brand new carburetor on it checked all kinds of wires and electrical stuff still To no avail. This has got me stumped I’m a mechanic and this is one thing I can not figure out. I even tried to wire it with a Mallory street fire ignition but they didn’t work either it won’t barly spark and even with either it still will not fire. I hope someone will be able To help me cuz I love this truck and need it for me and my family for this winter.

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
stop throwing parts at it first off. Things are dramatically more complicated now that the distributor has been messed with and ignition changed as the timing may be off.

First off check for spark, then check for fuel. check plugs, report back

·
Registered
31,930 Posts
howdy and welcome

stop throwing parts at it first off. Things are dramatically more complicated now that the distributor has been messed with and ignition changed as the timing may be off.

First off check for spark, then check for fuel. check plugs, report back

yup the man above is totally right , you need to step back and take a breath

first thing you need to verify is power to the things that make spark , ballast resister , ECM , coil

but to me it sounds like your starter relay fried [ wont stop cranking ] and the loss of "start" power from the starter relay