Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a '78 TrailDuster for F/R axles & Steering. It was some guys hunt camp truck and some raccoons got in (corn stored inside) and tore up the interior. 3 big bites out of a nice tight tuffwheel - DOH!!! I'm new to mopar 4wd stuff (got old cars & A-bodys) and want to know what I should strip off before it goes to the JY. Is the tuff wheel big with you guys like it is with the car guys. Is the tuff wheel mounting can the same as for a car or is it different for the 4WDers? It has a factory rollbar, good grille & most britework is good. Body is gone, rear door hinges broken out of roof. Tailgate trim is OK but tailgate is rusted out.

Please learn me as to what I should sell here (as opposed to Ebay) & what I should junk.

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
It could probably be a good toy for someone so you might just sell it as whole. Don't sound like the body or interior is worth that much. So that leaves the drivetrain and half ton drivetrain is dirt cheap because everyone upgrades to 3/4 or 1 ton stuff leaving a high supply of half ton axles. Probably better off selling it for about 500 if it runs.

Tuff wheels aren't that big of a deal outside of the muscle car world. I have two Dodge Miradas with them. They are just a sportier feeling steering wheel and an option on about every Dodge product.

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
The Tuff wheel would be a good thing to hang onto. I know a guy that rebuilds them.

I have a nice Warlock steering wheel on my 76 RC. Sure is an inprovement over the crappy looking stock steering wheel.

Sounds like you can part it out yourself if you have the time and space, or just sell the whole thing as chysler300le said.

Mac

·
Premium Member
9,424 Posts
It's the removable top... nice piece to hang onto in addition to the brightwork.
A fair number of folks will want that roll bar.
What engine, trans and transfer case ?