Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an opportunity to purchase a '75 Loadflite tranny with overdrive. It may not be a good tranny, but I'm interested to know if the OD will bolt up to my '77 B300 Maxivan with a 360 and 727. If it will, is it a workable combination? I've been driving this van since 1986 and just replaced the engine and tranny for the third time at almost 300,000. I've always felt an OD would improve it's mileage and performance. I have a place to work and equipment, so mounts and other minor changes would not be a problem.

Thanks

Jack

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
Are you sure its an overdrive? Chrysler didn't start using overdrives till the late 80's, but there is a transmission called the A-345 or something like that that supposedly is an overdrive tranny. Only time i've ever heard of one being found was in an old school bus mounted behind a 413 or 361 industrial engine. If you found such a tranny that came from this application more then likely it is for a big block and your 360 is a small block.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, it is a for a big block, but all I'm interested in is the OD. My tranny is new. It came from a D600.

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
I'm going to say no, but I don't know how the OD worked on those old trannies. On the newer trannies the OD unit bolts on but there is differences in the valve body and passages in the case. I just don't know about those old trannies. I just went and check it is a A-345 and according to Chiltons book they were used 74-76

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
according to my FSM fourth gear is 1 to 1 ratio and therefore not an overdrive. the FSM is a '77. There is a 3.56 to 1 first gear, more or less a granny gear.

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
Dodge78 said:
according to my FSM fourth gear is 1 to 1 ratio and therefore not an overdrive. the FSM is a '77. There is a 3.56 to 1 first gear, more or less a granny gear.