Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,
I am a newbie to the world of Ramchargers, but I own two. My 87 2WD 150 I want to make into a Pro Street look truck that will still tow my trailer. It has a 360/5.9l 4BBL(federal) acording to the Vin. My question is what rear end does it have and what trans. It needs a new carb or a rebuild and I thought I would stir things up by asking what the best carb id for a stock engine for street use.
The next question is a bit tougher. I want to tub the back and put some 31 x 18.8 x 15 Sportsman tires on the back. The question is, since I am going to have to narrow the rear end (I will install Posi at that time) and install a new rear sub-frame, what suspension system would work best. I want the thing to handle faily well and ride somewhat smooth as I will be towing a-lot. Would a 4 like work or laderbars or what. I will install disc brakes on the rear also.
Thanks ;D

·
Premium Member
8,998 Posts
I would not tow with a tubbed vehicle.
\
it has a 9 1/4 corporate rear, and probably a 727 lock up trans, cabr would be somethign around 600-625. I prefer the carter afb 625 for that application

if you get rear discs, make sure you read all the posts inthe parts review/service review section. Not all of us have had good success with the only people who make the kits for these rears.

Again, I would not tow with anything that had ladderbars or a 4 link rear.

·
2,317 Posts
if you already have a 4bbl manifold i would go with the cater or elde. if you want to tow. when i finish my club cab, im going to move the springs to inside the frame. box in the frame and take the driver side hangers and springs and move to the inside of the pass side and vise versa. if you measure the frame to quater you will see you can fit a big tire. and keeping the rear springs, still ride good and tow. just another idea.

·
Registered
9 Posts