Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okey dokey heres the deal guys, currently i have no front bumper on my truck in order to have some tow hooks on the front, as i am a rookie wheeler and i do plan on probably getting stuck atleast once :p.

heres a old pic from a few years ago, my truck rust wise is in amazing shape, shes from Florida and the body is really dent free. I just have some hooks mounted on where the bumper normally goes into the frame, they are required where i go wheeling so i stuck some on there one Friday. And because of not having said bumper i recently had a run in with a small tree on a trail, got lucky just busted out my turn signal lense dident hurt the grill all. But i would like to figure out a way of having the bumper and the tow hooks on at the same time. I know my way around with a cutoff wheel, ox acetylene torch, welder yatta yatta.

Any ideas? Sorry for the ramble on. heres some old school mopar goodness for you :)

extremetowny's "elmo"

who says my half ton can't run with the 4bt and V8 boys? 8)

·
Super Moderator
29,558 Posts
Build a bumper.  With the design of the stock bumper, you are going to have to cut a hole in the already retardly weak bumper to be able to have the hooks attached to the frame.  Even without holes in it the stock bumper is a weak, twisting POS that probably would not have saved your turn signal anyway and normally destroys the valance and fender.  If you wheel without protection you aren't going to have a dent-free body for long.  ;D

·
Registered
348 Posts
the ears on the bottom of the frame where the bumper attaches, are too soft and will bend. you need a bumper if you are going to pull anything heavier than a parade balloon.

·
Registered
965 Posts