Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 1987 f 150 4x4 4.9L fuel injected. i was sitting at a light today with the truck idling and when i went to take off the truck died and now it wont restart, fuel pump works cause i hear it build pressure, when i hit the key it turns over and seems to catch but never fully starts and just stops, have to cycle the key after that, havent checked spark yet but i dont see why it would have bad spark cause it just had a tune up like 5000 miles ago..... i dont see a schrader valve up on the fuel rail to see what the pressure is like, oh and i sprayed either up into the air cleaner and nothing, didnt even fire over or anything...... lookin for any idea's cause im new to the ford thing

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
oh one other thing i forgot to add but dont know if its relevant is that this truck has dual tanks and ill crap a fuel pump out of it in about 6 months (those fine napa fuel pumps, ive actually gotten quite good and changing them) dont know it the pressure regulator is makin the fuel pumps work harder and makin them go bad but this truck has me stumped

·
Registered
4,315 Posts
Welcome to my nightmare... ;D

My '89 F250 has a 351, but things should be similar enough for me to get you through a few things...hopefully.  ;)

First thought...in the words of Joe S...did you try putting a few gallons of gas in it and retry starting it?  The fuel gauges from that era fail miserably...hubby's has claimed 1/4 tank and been empty more than once.

Second thought...your fuel filter may be clogged.  They will run themselves to a full clog before the truck will die...no warning, no sputtering, nothing.  Checking fuel pressure will tell you if the line is blocked in any way, then you have to work from the tank forward to figure out where it lost pressure.  Does your truck have the high pressure & low pressure pump combo?  Dual or single fuel tank?