Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking to improve low end torque witout going to extremes just yet. In the long run, I plan on doing plenty of work on my truck, but right now Im just a beginner. I realize that making my engine a stroker would give me tons of torque, but thats years away. Ive been reading a book by David Vizard (a really great one, too) on improving engine performance, but most of it seems to improve horsepower only, often at the cost of low-end torque. So if anybody knows of anything that works, let me know, Id be happy to give it a shot.

·
Registered
736 Posts
Without any stats on your rig its hard to do. Carb tricks are different from TBI tricks are different from MPI tricks.
All do however benifit from a bit more CFM than stock and free'er flowing exaust just about always helps.

G

·
You can still fiddle with the timing a bit. Bumping up the initial timing with a twist of the distributor will increase the initial timing (yes, even on the TBI units), and this will help low rpm power. The trick is to balance this with detonation (rattling) from timing versus the octane fuel you're willing to pay for. Still, you should be able to sneak a few degrees of advance in there.

·
Premium Member
7,231 Posts
It's possible to bump up the torque with basic hod rodding techniques. Yes you did notice that in a gas engine many things you can do tend to improve power in the mid to upper rpm range.

There are a few options you can look at. First, gears act as torque multipliers. Lower axle gears will multiply the available torque at the expense of speed. Since you want low speed torque, you can build the engine for mid range power and gear down, but remember the fuel economy will not be as good unless you can get an overdrive tranny. Speaking of trannys and gears, it's possible to replace the planetary gears with lower gears in some automatics.