Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,631 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last time I drove my 1982 Honda Civic I could hear a metal on metal grind coming and going rythmically, and on further inspection decided it happens when I spin the right rear wheel.

I took it to Les Schwab, and they said the fronts are fine, but the rears are sealed and they wanted me to make an appointment with the brake center to have them checked out. What is the problem? I think it may have something to do with the emergency brake, but I'm not sure, could just be the pads or something else...

derek

·
Premium Member
2,631 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've never done brakes before...

·
Registered
104 Posts
Really not that difficult. Don't be afraid to at least pull the tire off and the drum should just come right off. The tire should hold the drum on. You may have to help it by tapping it with a hammer and prying it a little.

Why do you think that it's the e-brake?
When you're rolling, and you pull the e-brake, does it slow you down at all, or not? If not, your e-brake cable may be seized or return spring broken. Even though it's grinding, it should still slow the car some.

And once you remove the tire & drum, turn the axle by hand or put the wheel back on (without the drum) and see what you get. If it grinds without the drum, probably gonna be the bearings.

Gonzo

·
Registered
162 Posts