Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally found a Ramcharger that I'm considering on buying. The owner says there are a few engine problems. There's no smog equipment, I'm not a mechanic so I have no idea what parts that would be. It's the V8 360 engine, but it has a 2 barrel carb instead of a 4 barrel. I'm not sure of the reasoning behind that since I thought big engines needed lots of air. Also, he says he believes the timing is off since the truck won't stay on. No a/c, which is straight forward enough. It's an 88 model so if anyone knows of a forum here or maybe on another site please point me in the right dirrection. Oh, and one thing I found really odd the back hatch or whatever it's called is made of fiberglass. How common was that or is that a replacement? Please, I really want to buy this vehicle but I'm not sure how major these issues are or how difficult it is to find those particular parts. I live in Georgia so if anyone reading this is in Georgia please help me out. I've been looking for a project vehicle and I believe this is the one. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
29,343 Posts
are you sure its a 360  because if its a 318 then it would have a 2 bbl throttle body EFI

all 1981 to 1993 back hatches are fiberglass

·
Registered
5,614 Posts
Just because it's there doesn't mean it's stock, but what came there should give you clues. It's slightly more difficult to put a 318 into a 360 vehicle. There's a VIN decoder on the side bar of the sight. You can put the VIN in there and see what it originally came with.

G

·
The emissions related stuff is:
The Charcoal Canister
Smog/Air Pump

i think that the Vacuum Amplifier and Vacuum Reservoir are included but i'm not sure....

What state do you like in?

cause if you could get by without the smog pump and the emissions it would not bog the engine down as much...

Also does the RamCharger have an AC Compressor, or not?