Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all... First of thanks for the wealth of information everyone has provided in my newest project. This is only my 2nd Dodge i've ever owned in my life (53 years old). I'm still learning the Chrysler world. I know my 1980 corvette inside and out but am essentially starting all over with my Ramcharger !

I'm reading about this Lean burn system and trying to figure out if that's what i have. it's a 1989 Ramcharger 4x4 with the 5.2 (318) TBI engine. I don't see that box on the air filter, but also do not recall seeing a vacuum advance on the distributor?

When i bought the RC, the previous owner had the smog pump belts removed. I'm hoping to replace the exhaust system from the manifolds back (Muffler is completely shot) and am hoping that by doing this if i do have the lean burn this wont mess it up. The truck starts cold or hot very good, but seems to be lacking in the power.

If i do have the lean burn system, I see there is an Orange box setup from Summit racing which includes a new distributor. Can that be used and still keep the TBI ?

If not, what are my options.

·
Registered
13,500 Posts