Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok can anyne tell me why diesels are not only louder but sound soo much different then gas motors????

·
Premium Member
7,231 Posts
Most of the big rigs are inline six cylinder engines, as well as the Cummins as used by Dodge

Big rigs often have a Jake brake

Diesels use turbos which tend to whistle

Many big rigs don't use mufflers. The turbo will act as a muffler

The rattleing noise you hear is the sound of the ignition explosions smacking the pistons with great force.

Ed

·
Registered
31 Posts
not totally true, large cummins need mufflers otherwise the snap from the jake can be heard for miles, and the whine from the turbo would kill dogs. Cats and dogs(Macks) are the only 2 that can be ran straight pipes without doing major hearing damage. (I know this, as I have been hauling logs for 15 years, and have heard all the combinations. The newer 550 cats are almost too loud for staraight pipes)

·
Premium Member
7,231 Posts
lost1 said:
not totally true, large cummins need mufflers otherwise the snap from the jake can be heard for miles, and the whine from the turbo would kill dogs. Cats and dogs(Macks) are the only 2 that can be ran straight pipes without doing major hearing damage. (I know this, as I have been hauling logs for 15 years, and have heard all the combinations. The newer 550 cats are almost too loud for staraight pipes)
I never said that a turbo is capable of muffling the exaust more than a muffler. It does muffle the exaust to some extent because the exaust does pass thru it.

I never seen or heard of dogs dying from turbo whine, for the most part the whine from the turbo is less than all the other sounds a diesel makes.