Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I know the chevy axles are a little wider then Dodge ones, with bigger spring pads that are 1/2 further apart, right? So how do I make it fit on my Dodge? Because I'm getting a front chevy D60 from a friend for almost nothing, and I know they can work on our trucks, I just need to know how.
Accually, I've been thinking it'd be a cool idea to swap on some longer springs (to increase flex), so if there are any chevy ones that might be a good idea.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I make ist just last week!

You need bigger Wheel Nuts because the Dana 60 has 5/8 unef 24 and bigger Studs at the Diff.... The U Bolts are Bigger too!

But ist works!

Anti,...

·
3,753 Posts
I've been running a Chev 60 in the front for almost 4 years now. If I remember correctly the Chev spring pads are 1/2" narrower, but it bolts up easily. You might have to shim the shackles a little, I never have but I think Stupiddodge on this board used to have a 60 set up this way. Like said above get the spring plates and you'll need bigger u-bolts.

·
Premium Member
26,070 Posts
Back to this, don't forget d shafts

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
Make sure you get a set of SRW hubs for the front...
-Steve C.

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
whlnwgn said:
Make sure you get a set of SRW hubs for the front...
-Steve C.
Accually I'm considering using Hummer double beadlocks with the stock 7" backspacing, should work out OK with the dually hub. I know single front hubs are technically the right way to do it but I really don't want to pay an extra $300+ for the hubs. Plus this way I don't even have to pay to have the hummer beadlocks recentered, so its kinda the best of both worlds. Even though I know Marty hates hummer wheels because their so heavy. hehe

·
Premium Member
3,768 Posts