Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
797 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Serious problem here... almost ready to turn her over to the local shop for help. My '89 RC has taken to a serious bout of hesitation and bucking when warmed up. The check engine light always accompanies this. I've run the ignition codes several times and am getting mixed messages. The code for rich air/fuel comes up, but so does lean air/fuel. I'm getting a shorted or open circuit in an air switching solenoid (where/what the heck is that??), no speed/distance signal during road load conditions, as well as a few other codes. Y'all... I am not good at troubleshooting. :p I changed my fuel filter for hoora's and gave her a fresh air filter too. Old one reeked of fuel. Also had a severe case of vapor lock when I undid the fuel cap to help relieve pressure for the FF change. I've had an O2 sensor kickin' around and I thought of changing that out to see if it helps, but I don't know if it really will. :-\

I am pretty lost here and can see myself spending incredible amounts of $$ replacing things that don't need replacing, just to find the magic fix. If anyone has any clues or ideas, I would greatly appreciate it. I want my daily driver back! I miss her companionship! I just bought her new tires for Pete's Sake! ;)

·
7,995 Posts
Can you list the code numbers that you got off the computer so that we can look at all the problems from a different perspective. Pull off your distributor cap and rotor and check for anything burned or unusual. Check the wire from the coil to the distributor cap for burning or arcing. How's your plug wires and spark plugs? If your filter smelled like fuel than you probably have an ignition problem or maybe a bad fuel injector? Get back to us. :)

·
Registered
797 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·