Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to adjust the bands on my tranny tomorrow when I cange the filter. The book says to tighten the screws to 72 in-lbs, but I don't have a small torque wrench. Can I use my regular ft-lb wrench and just set it to 6 ft-lbs, or is that not going to be accurate enough? I've never done this before and I don't want to screw up the tranny.

Thanks,
Matt {peace}

·
Registered
561 Posts
KThaxton is right on about the accuracy of your ft/lb. wrench at 6 ft/lb.. Most mechanics that perform band adjustments routinely, develop a "feel" and use a special wrench, (Short that fits the band adjust screw), and snug it up "just tight enough" and then back off the specified number of turns. I'd try the 6 ft/lb. click of the wrench a few times and see if it feels about the same each time you torque it. Back the adjustment off and observe the play in the band and see if it variew.

Just my .02...

Dave

·
Premium Member
5,548 Posts
Most torque wrenchs aren't very accurate down low. I found that out the hard way. Then read the same thing later in a publication somewhere. You can just tighten it up a tad more then finger tight with a wrench and it will be close enough.

·
7,995 Posts
I bought the torque wrench and special socket/multiplier years a go when we ordered our trucks but if you have any doubts take your torque wrench down to an automotive machine shop that has a torque tester/calibration unit. That what I used to do years ago and they were always real close. If you dont want to purchase a new wrench you might try renting one also?

·
Registered
926 Posts
I borrowed an in/lb wrench once and it would not fit inside the transmission. Does anyone know what make and model number wrench will fit the 727?

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·