Dodge RamCharger Central banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

So this is a bit of a long story but I have been having issues getting my truck to run efficiently and I feel I need to give all the information for the best responses.

Started with a rebuild on my carb which is the holley 6280 lean burn. Ran way better but then a few weeks later found an intake manifold leak ( found by spraying around the mating surfaces ) fixed that, still running crappy, thought it was a fuel problem because it would drop rpm randomly at idle when warm, replaced filter and pump. Then finally picked up one of those vacuum gauges and tested while engine was idling warm ( should have done this in the beginning, novice here :D ). Needle was bouncing quite a bit. I have a video link here

https://www.dropbox.com/s/j2eycm7m1vsepwd/Video.mov?dl=0

Just did cap, rotor, plugs, wires last night, thinking one of the spark plugs was fouled or distributor contact points were too corroded. ( got that from the sporadic needle, Miss-fire? ) Plugs all look good, did compression test as well, even across the board. Was too tired to continue last night so I will be advancing the timing tonight by turning the distributor clockwise. Hopefully that makes things a bit better. I noticed the rotor was pointing to the driver side of the truck, not to the #1 cylinder. ( not sure if this matters )