Dodge Ram Cummins Diesels and Mopar banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Heyo!

This is my first time rebuilding an engine and honestly I've only really been "working" on cars for about a year. Fortunately my father has a good bit of know how from his era.
So, I've got an '89 360 that I pulled out of my dirt cheap '87 Ramcharger. I've already disassembled it and I'm getting ready to take it to the machine shop to be cleaned up and maybe ported. It was actually rebuilt not long before I got it. Too bad they put some of the wrong parts on it... (I think they may have thought it was a 318, as that's what it was sold to me as. Says 360 all over it though, clear as day.) It's bored 0.040" over but is pretty much stock as far as I can tell. I might get some different heads down the road but I'll be using stock for now. I've got a 4 barrel Edelbrock carb that might be replaced with EFI later. It's got some ratty headers on it now that are going to be replaced with new ones. This truck will mostly be my toy, but I may end up doing a bit of towing with it. I want to get as much HP and torque out of it without spending an arm and a leg. (who doesn't?)

Anyways, I'm sure someone at the machine shop will be able to help me out, but I figured I'd ask here seeing as you guys have got me to where I'm at.

To the point: I'm going to be replacing the camshaft (thinking Lunati 262/268 475/.494) and lifters, timing gears and chain, bearings and rings. I've been thinking about new pistons as well for higher compression. I don't want to do any grinding to the connecting rods or anything like that. I would like to be able to take all the parts to the machine shop in one trip simply because I always work and I don't get a lot of time during business hours to do anything else.

Given these details, is it enough to safely choose a set of pistons and if so, suggestions?